6th meeting of the European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services (ERGA)

The European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services held its sixth meeting on 29 November 2016, in Brussels.

During the meeting, ERGA re-elected Prof. dr. Madeleine de Cock Buning as ERGA Chair for 2017. It also elected two ERGA Vice-Chairs – Damir Hajduk, Vice President of the Croatian Council for Electronic Media and Luboš Kukliš, Chief Executive of the Council for Broadcasting and Retransmission of the Slovak Republic.

ERGA also adopted the Work Programme for 2017  as well as changes to its Rules of Procedure.

The Work Programme 2017 envisages the setting up of 4 ERGA sub groups that will focus on the following areas:

1. Exchanging experiences and good practices – this work flow will aim at further deepening of the European Digital Toolkit (DET) initiated by the Work Programme 2016 and also proposes the development of ERGA Academia

2. Future-proof European Audiovisual Regulation: Protection of Minors – this work flow will continue the work initiated in 2016 by ERGA Task Force on Protection of Minors.

3.  Preparing ERGA and NRAs for Self and Co-regulation – given the reinforced role of self- and co-regulation in the proposal for the AVMSD this ERGA workflow will aim at preparing the NRAs for the new tasks. It will exchange good practices regarding the establishment of self and co-regulatory systems.

4.  Future-proofing ERGA – it will involve improving ERGA internal procedures and if necessary providing practical and technical advice to the European Commission.


During the meeting ERGA also adopted a Report on accessibility of audiovisual content and internal report on the Digital European Toolkit (DET).  It also approved its internal Guidelines for ERGA Contact Network.


See Press release

Agenda of the meeting

Minutes of the meeting